FA Cup draw live updates as third round fixtures are announced – The News

 Non-League outfit AFC Fylde will be hoping to land one of the Premier League big boys in Monday night’s FA Cup draw  The National League strugglers are in the third round for the first time ever where they will be joined by the likes of Manchester United, Arsenal and Liverpool  Twenty Premier League teams and another 24 from the Championship enter the competition as they fight for a place in the fourth round  Ex Arsenal captain Tony Adams and former Manchester City defender Micah Richards will be conducting the draw, which will be broadcast live on BBC Two at 7 15pm.  All 32 third-round ties, which will take place over the weekend of January 3-6, will kick-off one minute later than usual to help promote mental health, the Football Association has announced HEADS UPFA Cup tackles mental health Every tie in this season’s FA Cup third round will kick-off one minute later in a promotion to help raise awareness for mental health  The FA have teamed up with the Heads Up campaign, and the NHS’ Every Mind Matters to endorse the initiative  FA chief executive Mark Bullingham said: “We know men in particular can be reluctant to talk about the subject, so it is important we use football as a vehicle to stress the importance of mental fitness ” Godric Smith, chair of the Heads Up campaign, added: “The FA Cup is a competition for everyone – for clubs big and small – and we want to use its power to help show that we all have mental health and that we can all take a minute to focus on how we can start to improve it ”COVENTRYCoventry leave it late to book replay Two previous winners of the FA Cup met in a second round clash at St Andrews on Saturday as Coventry left it late to snatch a draw against Ipswich  The Sky Blues needed a 94th-minute equaliser from Callum O’Hare to force a replay with the Tractor Boys at Portman Road  Both sides will learn their prospective third round opponents in today’s draw, added extra incentive to their replay clash  Coventry won the trophy in the 1986-87 season, almost a decade after Bobby Robson’s Ipswich triumphed in 1977-78 Mixed fortunes for non-League sides Sixth-tier Boston ensured they would be in Monday’s FA Cup third-round draw after holding Sky Bet League One club Rochdale to a goalless draw at Spotland  The Vanarama National League North side (in action below) dominated the majority of the game but had to withstand late pressure as they clung on to force a replay  National League outfit Hartlepool kept their dreams of meeting a Premier League side alive too, albeit in rather more dramatic fashion as they hit back from two goals down to force a 2-2 draw at Exeter  But Maidstone’s hopes of upsetting Blackpool and reaching the third round were dashed in a five-minute spell at the start of the second half  The National League South side led at the break at Bloomfield Road thanks to Saidou Khan’s stunning finish from 25 yards on the turn in the 29th minute  But George Elokobi’s own goal shortly after half-time was swiftly followed by a Nathan Delfouneso brace to knock Maidstone out the competition 14:29Ball numbers 1 AFC Bournemouth 2 Arsenal 3 Aston Villa 4 Barnsley 5 Birmingham City 6 Blackburn Rovers 7 Brentford 8 Brighton & Hove Albion 9 Bristol City 10 Burnley 11 Cardiff City 12 Charlton Athletic 13 Chelsea 14 Crystal Palace 15 Derby County 16 Everton 17 Fulham 18 Huddersfield Town 19 Hull City 20 Leeds United 21 Leicester City 22 Liverpool 23 Luton Town 24 Manchester City 25 Manchester United 26 Middlesbrough 27 Millwall 28 Newcastle United 29 Norwich City 30 Nottingham Forest 31 Preston North End 32 Queens Park Rangers 33 Reading 34 Sheffield United 35 Sheffield Wednesday 36 Southampton 37 Stoke City 38 Swansea City 39 Tottenham Hotspur 40 Watford 41 West Bromwich Albion 42 West Ham United 43 Wigan Athletic 44 Wolverhampton Wanderers 45 Blackpool 46 Portsmouth 47 Shrewsbury Town 48 Coventry City or Ipswich Town 49 AFC Fylde 50 Tranmere Rovers 51 Oxford United 52 Exeter City or Hartlepool United 53 Eastleigh or Crewe Alexandra 54 Forest Green Rovers or Carlisle United 55 Solihull Moors or Rotherham United 56 Gillingham 57 Rochdale or Boston United 58 Peterborough United 59 Burton Albion 60 Newport County 61 Fleetwood Town 62 Port Vale 63 Northampton Town 64 Bristol Rovers or Plymouth Argyle

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *